EP174: Dischord Records – The First Three EPs

Ground zero for DC Punk Rock starts here with Dischord Records releases one, two and three.  Starting in 1980 with the Teen Idles debut, Minor Disturbance , this would be the sound that would define the label for decades to come and sustains it today.  Misers Ian MacKaye, Jeff Nelson, Henry Garfield (soon to be Rollins), Mike Hampton et la would go on to do incredible things in legendary bands and it all starts here.   It’s a walk through Hardcore’s past when it predicted its future with urgent bursts of teen rage delivered via an unprecedented DYI ethos. 

Leave a Reply